Medical Research

2009 ICRA Grantees

Targeted Research Area: Sickle Cell Disease

The following five projects have been selected to receive 2009 Innovation in Clinical Research Awards:

Selective Inhibition of HDAC1 and HDAC2 in Sickle Cell Disease

  • James E. Bradner, M.D.
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

PFAST: Patent Foramen Ovale and Stroke in Sickle Cell Disease

  • Michael M. Dowling, M.D., Ph.D.
    University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Clinical Development of Histone Deacetylase Inhibitors for the Treatment of Sickle Cell Disease

  • Benjamin L. Ebert, M.D., Ph.D.
    Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Maureen Okam, M.D., M.P.H.
    Brigham and Women's Hospital

ß-globin Gene Correction in Hematopoietic Stem Cells for Sickle Cell Disease

  • Donald B. Kohn, M.D.
    University of California, Los Angeles
  • Philip Gregory, Ph.D.
    Sangamo Biosciences, Inc.

Whole-exome Re-sequencing in Sickle Cell Disease Patients with Extremely Mild Clinical Courses

  • Guillaume Lettre, Ph.D.
    Montreal Heart Institute
  • Joel N. Hirschhorn, M.D., Ph.D.
    Children's Hospital Boston