Staff & Advisory Councils

Office of the President

Edward P. Henry
View Bio

Karen Jacobsen
Executive Assistant to the President and Board Liaison

Erica Dziedzic


Peter Simmons
Chief Operating Officer
View Bio

Beth Woltering
Office Operations Manager

Linda Artola
Operations Assistant



Kristin Roth-Schrefer
Communications Director
View Bio

Nina M. Chung
Communications Associate
View Bio



Jeffrey Heil
Chief Investment Officer
View Bio

Randy Klein
Senior Investment Officer

Jennifer Katz
Portfolio Analyst

Bracewell Polo
Financial Analyst

Lisa Yeh
Investment Associate

Grants Administration

Adrienne Fisher
Director, Grants Management & Evaluation

Linda Diamond
Program Associate, Grants Management

Phenisher Harris
Program Associate, Grants Management

Arts Program

Maurine Knighton
Program Director for the Arts
View Bio

Brandi Stewart
Program Officer for the Arts
View Bio

Lillian Osei-Boateng
Program Manager for the Arts
View Bio

Valerie Bailey
Program Associate for the Arts
View Bio

Environment Program

Sacha Spector, Ph.D.
Program Director for the Environment
View Bio

Danielle Levoit
Program Officer for the Environment
View Bio

Rachel Goldstein
Program Assistant for the Environment

Medical Research Program

Betsy Myers, Ph.D.
Program Director for Medical Research
View Bio

Sindy Escobar-Alvarez, Ph.D.
Senior Program Officer for Medical Research
View Bio

Katrina Bandong
Program Associate for Medical Research
View Bio

Scientific Advisory Council Members

The Scientific Advisory Council provides general advice and guidance to the Medical Research Program on its Clinical Research Career Ladder and Innovations in Clinical Research programs.

Chair - Andrew Schafer, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Weill Cornell Medical College

Vivian Cheung, M.D.
Frederick G.L. Huetwell Professor, Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases, Division of Neurology
Professor, Department of Human Genetics
University of Michigan

Benjamin L. Ebert, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair, Medical Oncology
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School

Jose C. Florez, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School

Talmadge E. King, Jr., M.D.
Dean, Department of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco

Dianna Milewicz, M.D., Ph.D.
President George H.W. Bush Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine
Division Director, Professor, Vice-Chair-Medical Genetics 
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Christopher V. Plowe, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.S.T.M.H.
Director, Duke Global Health Institute
Professor of Medicine and Global Health
Duke University

Daniel J. Rader, M.D.
Seymour Gray Professor of Molecular Medicine
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

Rochelle Walensky, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School 

Child Well-being Program

Lola Adedokun, M.P.H.
Program Director for Child Well-being and Director for the African Health Initiative
View Bio

Rumeli Banik, Ph.D.
Program Officer for Child Well-being 
View Bio

McKenzie Bennett
Program Associate for Child Well-being and Associate for the African Health Initiative
View Bio

Advisory Board Members

Rosemary Chalk
Advisory Board Chair

Former Director, Board on Children, Youth, and Families
Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council

Kimber Bogard, PhD
Director, Forum on Investing in Young Children Globally
National Academy of Medicine

Eric Brettschneider, JD, MA
First Deputy Commissioner
NYC Administration for Children's Services

Angela Diaz, MD, MPH
Mount Sinai Adolescent Health Center

Felton Earls, MD
Emeritus Professor
Harvard Medical School

Maxine Hayes, MD, MPH
Clinical Professor
University of Washington School of Public Health

Jacqueline Pata
National Congress of American Indians

Deborah Phillips, PhD, MA
Professor of Psychology
Georgetown University Public Policy Institute

African Health Initiative

Lola Adedokun, M.P.H.
Director for the African Health Initiative and Program Director for Child Well-being
View Bio

McKenzie Bennett
Associate for the African Health Initiative and Program Associate for Child Well-being
View Bio


The African Health Advisory Council provides advice and guidance to the foundation staff on the African Health Initiative.

African Health Advisory Council Members

Ties Boerma, MD, PhD
Director, Department of Measurement and Health Information Systems
World Health Organization

Jo Ivey Boufford, MD
President, New York Academy of Medicine
Foreign Secretary, Institute of Medicine of the National Academies

Mickey Chopra, MD, PhD
Global Solutions Lead: Service Delivery, Health, Nutrition and Population Global Practice
World Bank

Alex Ezeh, PhD
Executive Director
African Population and Health Research Center

Roger I. Glass, MD, PhD
Director, Fogarty International Center
National Institutes of Health

Demissie Habte, MD
Former International Director
James P. Grant School of Public Health
BRAC University

Charles Hongoro, PhD
Research Director, Health Systems Financing
Population Health, Health Systems and Innovation

Marian Jacobs, MD
Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town

Adetokunbo O. Lucas, MD
Adjunct Professor of International Health
Harvard School of Public Health

Cheikh Mbacke, PhD
Independent Consultant

David Sanders, MBChB, DCH, MRCP, DTPH
Founding Director and Professor
School of Public Health, University of Western Cape

Building Bridges Program

Zeyba Rahman
Senior Program Officer for the Building Bridges Program (DDFIA)
View Bio 

Linda Artola
Program Associate for the Building Bridges Program (DDFIA) and Operations Assistant
View Bio

Advisory Council Members

The Advisory Council guides the Building Bridges Program with overarching and subject specific advice.

Abdullah Antepli
Chief Representative of Muslim Affairs
Duke University

Anisa Mehdi
Emmy Award-winning Journalist
Fulbright Scholar in Jordan

Hind Makki
Founder, Side Entrance blog
Co-Founder, Muslim ARC

Hussein Rashid
Adjunct Professor of Comparative Religion
Barnard College
Media commentator and columnist

Peter Awn
Dean and Professor, School of General Studies
Professor of Islam and Comparative Religion
Columbia University

Shahed Amanallah
Co-Founder and Chief Technology Officer, Affinis Lab

Theodore Levin
Arthur R. Virgin Professor of Music
Dartmouth College



Eileen Oberlander
Controller / Director of Finance

Thomas Carney
Accounting Manager

Christopher Anthony
Accounting Manager

Lynn Pipitone
Senior Accountant

Jacqueline Guzzi 
Senior Accountant

Keri Rice
Accounts Payable Associate

Human Resources

Human Resources

James Eodice, MBA/MHRM
Human Resources Director

Veronica Mayes
Human Resources Associate

Nicole Cruz
Human Resources Assistant

Information Services

Information Services

Guli Basu
Director of Information Systems

Tulika Bhalla
Information Systems Analyst